Joseph Ballard II named inaugural Director of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion for Campus Life unit

AMES, Iowa – Iowa State University’s Campus Life unit is excited to announce Joseph Ballard II will serve as the inaugural Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) for Campus Life beginning on Monday, Nov. 9. For the past eight years, Joseph has provided leadership for DEI initiatives in multiple roles at the University of Minnesota – Twin Cities, University of Illinois- Urbana-Champaign, Oklahoma State University, and Purdue University.

In this Campus Life role, Joseph will partner with all staff who work with students who are served by the Department of Residence, ISU Dining, and the Memorial Union to deliver an experience that maximizes all students and staff members’ success.

Joseph will spend the next few months getting to know Iowa State community members and learning how Campus Life can better contribute to ISU’s goal of becoming the most welcoming and inclusive land-grant university in the nation.

“I am excited and looking forward to joining the Campus Life, Student Affairs, and Cyclone family in this inaugural and very crucial role, specifically, when thinking about the current times and landscape we are in within higher education, our country, and overall as a society,” Joseph Ballard II said. “I am eager to work with the Campus Life team, Student Affairs colleagues, and campus and community partners to advance the success of students and staff in Campus Life. I look forward to the work ahead as we work collectively to ensure that Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion continues to be a core value of the University and that ISU is truly the most welcoming and inclusive institution in the country.”

Joseph Ballard II is a two-time graduate of Big 12 schools, earning his bachelor’s degree in Marketing from Oklahoma State University and a master’s degree in Adult and Higher Education Administration with a dual emphasis in Student Affairs & Social Justice from the University of Oklahoma.

Thanks to the entire search committee comprised of nicci port (co-chair), KB Gwebu (co-chair), Casey Dague, Cheryl Lounsberry, Audrey Kennis, Paloma Mate-Kodjo, and Daniela Rivera Piedra.